On Fire….

I have been feeling really good this week. So far. Yeah, I know, it’s only Tuesday. 🙂

I hit the weekend with a nice quiet Friday night, with the intention of getting up at the butt crack of dawn to get my long run in.

Nope. Didn’t happen.  I tutored Saturday morn, then lounged around all day doing a whole lot of nothing. (also? it was about 385,493,384 degrees outside!)

Sunday was the long run, 6ish miles. I can’t remember the last time I ran 6 miles, so I was nervous….

I got up at 5:30am….. and managed to get some food in me, strap on my fuel belt, make sure my water bottles were full of Tailwind, and get out the door by 6:15ish.


6.1 miles. Done. I was so freaking proud of myself.  I kept up my intervals for the long run.  I think my plan is to run whatever during the week, and stick with the intervals for the long runs.  It seems to help me keep the energy up throughout the miles, and gives my poor autoimmune diseased body a chance to take a break now and then… maybe eventually I’ll do away with the intervals, but prob not in the marathon training….

Today though, I threw the intervals out the window and ran my fastest 5k in a while! 42 minutes…. my 5k PR is 36 minutes, but I haven’t even come close to that in YEARS. I’m actually ok with it, I don’t mind being slow. I know I’m out there getting it done, rather than home reminiscing about the old days when I was a runner. I am just happy that I can still do it, and that I haven’t allowed my age/state of mind to steal my vibrant lifestyle….. b/c I feel like this life….these last 4 or 5 years…. have been some of the best years of my life.

 

At any rate,

Thats me today. I’m not feeling the itch to write more than that. I’m happier, kitty is still seeming to thrive on her new fluid/insulin/food regimen, and as long as she’s happy, I’m happy.

3 thoughts on “On Fire….

Leave a Reply

